Our Board

Meet the Eureka Recycling Board of Directors

Eureka board member Tim Brownell.

Interim CHAIR 
Tim Brownell currently serves as Director of Operations at the Monterey Regional Waste Management District (“District”) in Monterey County, CA. The District’s mission is to turn Waste into Resources and to facilitate their member municipalities to achieve and exceed diversion goals prescribed by the State of California. The District operates a landfill, a Materials Recovery Facility (MRF) for SS Recyclables, MSW and C&D debris, a Yard-waste Composting yard and an Anaerobic Digestion facility, as well as the Last Chance Mercantile (reuse retail outlet). Prior to joining the District, Tim has served as a co-founder and co-president of Eureka Recycling in Minneapolis, MN, the Executive Director of Recycle Ann Arbor in Ann Arbor, MI, as well as Recycling Program Manager for Sunset Scavenger in San Francisco, CA


Eureka board member Alex Danovich.

Alex Danovich
is an experienced zero waste professional with over 20 years of experience in the industry. With a strong operational, policy and entrepreneurial background, he excels in business and zero waste planning, financial evaluation and projections, waste system modeling, social and environmental impact quantification, recycling contracting and program design. He is a co-founder, past vice president and current vice chair of the board of Eureka Recycling. He has consulted with cities, colleges and universities, nonprofits and businesses around a broad array of zero waste projects.

Eureka board member Rick Person.

Rick Person has been involved in the field of solid waste management and recycling since 1978, and joined the board in 2010. He is retired from the City of Saint Paul Department of Public Works, where he was Program Administrator for solid waste and recycling, which included recycling collection and neighborhood clean-up program, refuse collection system oversight, ordinance enforcement and compliance, as well as citywide sustainability planning. He holds an M.P.H. degree in environmental health from the University of Minnesota and an M.S. in urban planning from Iowa State University. Rick is a past president of the Minnesota Public Works Association.

Eureka Co-President Lynn Hoffman.

Lynn Hoffman is the Co-President of Eureka Recycling, and has worked at Eureka since 2003 in a variety of roles. She currently directs the organization’s policy, advocacy, education, and human resources departments and initiatives. Prior to taking on this role she was a member of the executive team as the Chief of Community Engagement and Policy. In this role she developed innovative city-wide and targeted education initiatives, as well as research and engagement projects such as Eureka’s multi-year multifamily recycling study and resulting tool-kit, which has been used in municipalities across the country. She leads with a deep understanding of all facets of Eureka’s unique social enterprise model, and drives the organization to leverage demonstrations for meaningful systems change. She currently serves as a board member of the Minnesota Composting Council and the Minnesota Environmental Fund.

Eureka Co-President Kate Davenport.

Kate Davenport is the co-president of Eureka Recycling. Previous to the role of co-president, Davenport was the director of business development at Eureka and led on merging Eureka’s mission and values with business development, materials marketing, and operational systems change and efficiencies. Prior to Eureka, Kate co-developed operations for Envirelation, the first commercial organics collection service in Washington, D.C.  She worked with Flexcar and the Zipcar, the first car sharing companies in the US.  Kate was a Program Director at EcoVentures International with a focus on environmental microenterprise development in East Africa, South Asia, the Caribbean, and the US.  Kate has a B.A. from Tufts University.

Eureka board member Lara Page.

Lara Page serves as the Eureka Recycling Board’s Secretary. Lara is an attorney at the firm of Stinson Leonard Street who practice is concentrated on the financing of affordable housing projects, renewable energy projects and construction loans. Lara also has significant experience in complex corporate and financial structuring and restructuring, private equity fund administration, entity formation and governance and other corporate transactional matters. She attended Carlson School of Management, University of Minnesota, and she earned her J.D. from the Hofstra University School of Law.

Eureka board member Bryan Ukena.

Bryan Ukena previously served as Co-President and the director of business development for Eureka Recycling, since 2007. As director of business development, Bryan guided and grew Eureka’s zero-waste composting, zero-waste events program, commodity sales, and market development. Bryan has been designing and implementing waste reduction programs for more than 25 years and prior to moving to Minnesota, Bryan led the development of award winning residential, commercial and industrial solid waste and recycling programs in Arkansas,  Colorado and in Minnesota.